Jennifer Welsh

Director, CIPSS (McGill University)


Jennifer M. Welsh is the Canada 150 Research Chair in Global Governance and Security at McGill University. She was previously Professor at the European University Institute (Florence, Italy) and at the University of Oxford. From 2013-2016, she served as the Special Adviser to the UN Secretary General, Ban Ki-moon, on the Responsibility to Protect. Professor Welsh is the author, co-author, and editor of several books and articles on humanitarian intervention, the evolution of the notion of the ‘responsibility to protect’ in international society, the UN Security Council, and Canadian foreign policy. Her most recent books include The Return of History: Conflict, Migration and Geopolitics in the 21st century (2016), and The Responsibility to Prevent: Overcoming the Challenges of Atrocity Prevention (2015).


Megan Bradley

Associate Director, CIPSS (McGill University)


Megan Bradley is associate professor of political science and international development studies at McGill University. Her research and teaching focuses on refugees, human rights, humanitarianism, transitional justice, natural disasters, and gender. She is the author of Refugee Repatriation: Justice, Responsibility and Redress (Cambridge University Press, 2013), and the editor of Forced Migration, Reconciliation and Justice (McGill-Queen’s University Press, 2015). Alongside her research and teaching, Professor Bradley has worked with a range of organizations concerned with humanitarianism, human rights and development. From 2012-2014, she was a Fellow in the Foreign Policy Program at the Brookings Institution in Washington, DC, where she worked with the Brookings Project on Internal Displacement. She has also worked with the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) and the International Development Research Centre (IDRC). From 2007 to 2008, she served as the Cadieux-Léger Fellow in the Canadian Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade. Since June 2015, she has served as the Associate Director of CIPSS, and she was interim Director from June-December 2018.

Theodore McLauchlin

Director, CEPSI (Université de Montréal)


Theodore McLauchlin is Assistant Professor in the Department of Political Science at Université de Montréal. His research focuses on cohesion and political activity of armed forces, both state and non-state. He examines such research questions as: how do some armed groups maintain their cohesion during often long and always challenging wars? Why do officers and soldiers join one side or another in civil conflicts? What do military leaders do in the face of possible disobedience and desertion, and how do soldiers respond to these efforts? He has published in International Studies Quarterly, Journal of Conflict Resolution, Comparative Politics, and Conflict Management and Peace Science.

Beata Skazinetsky

Office Administrator, CIPSS (McGill University)


Beata Skazinetsky joined the Centre for International Peace and Security Studies (CIPSS) in the role of administrator in February 2021. She splits her time between CIPSS and the Centre for Media, Technology and Democracy at Max Bell School of Public Policy, McGill University. 




Zarlasht M. Razeq

Graduate coordinator, CIPSS, (McGill University)

PhD candidate in Political Science (McGill University) 


Flora Pidoux

Coordinator, CEPSI (Université de Montréal)

Flora Pidoux is a doctoral candidate in political science at the Université de Montréal. She has been affiliated with the CEPSI since January 2017. She is a FQRSC scholar. Her research focuses on colonialism and decolonization and their influences on international relations. Her thesis project focuses on the role of the UN bureaucracy in decolonization, under the direction of Jean-Philippe Thérien.

Flora holds a Master’s degree in Political Science, International Relations Orientation from the Catholic University of Louvain, Belgium, obtained with “Grand Distinction”, and a Bachelor’s degree in Social Sciences, Global Studies and International Development Studies orientation from Roskilde University, Denmark.