Rose McDermott (Brown University): “the Influence of Psychological Factors in the Search for Strategic Stability”

https://www.eventbrite.ca/e/cepsi-cipss-speaker-series-prof-rose-mcdermott-brown-university-tickets-117443951019

“The Influence of Psychological Factors in the Search for Strategic Stability.”

Nuclear deterrence and strategic stability have always rested on fundamental assumptions about the nature of human psychology that are dubious at best and demonstrably empirically false at worst. Rationality, for example, represents one of these beliefs that have little, or at least restricted, basis in reality. And yet the entire fate of the planet depends, in essence, on our collective delusion that pivotal actors, no matter how selfish, remain fundamentally rational and intent on preserving survival if nothing else. Like most judgmental biases, this perception may be mostly accurate most of the time. However, it suffers from systematic and predictable flaws that can occur in predictable ways that can undermine not only our notions of rationality but also the foundations of stability and deterrence.

There are many judgmental biases that could potentially affect decision making in general, with profound implications for nuclear decision making in particular. However, after providing a brief discussion of decision processing in general, this paper will concentrate on five of the most notable candidates for improving our understanding of the way human psychological architecture may not be well suited for understanding the enormous destructive potential of weapons in the nuclear age, and thus could hinder effective decision making in the realm. These include overconfidence, the planning fallacy, the illusion of validity, psychic numbing and the prominence effect. Alone, and in concert, each of these common processes can influence how leaders and others make judgments and reach decisions without recognizing the bias inherent in their choices. A brief comment on how evolutionary perspectives which typically argue against the notion of error actually support wider concerns in this particular arena precedes a discussion about the policy implications suggested by these insights.

Rose McDermott is the David and Mariana Fisher University Professor of International Relations at Brown University and a Fellow in the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. She works in the areas of political psychology. She received her Ph.D.(Political Science) and M.A. (Experimental Social Psychology) from Stanford University and has also taught at Cornell and UCSB. She has held fellowships at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, the Olin Institute for Strategic Studies and the Women and Public Policy Program, all at Harvard University, and has been a fellow at the Stanford Center for Advanced Studies in the Behavioral Sciences twice. She is the author of five books, a co-editor of two additional volumes, and author of over two hundred academic articles across a wide variety of disciplines encompassing topics such as gender, experimentation, national security intelligence, social identity, cybersecurity, emotion and decision-making, and the biological and genetic bases of political behavior.

Date / Heure
Date(s) - 16 October 2020
12h00 - 13h30

Map Unavailable

Conférence de Rose McDermott (Brown University): « the Influence of Psychological Factors in the Search for Strategic Stability »

 

« The Influence of Psychological Factors in the Search for Strategic Stability. »

RÉSUMÉ DE LA PRÉSENTATION: La dissuasion nucléaire et la stabilité stratégique ont toujours reposé sur des hypothèses fondamentales sur la nature de la psychologie humaine qui sont au mieux douteuses et empiriquement fausses au pire. La rationalité, par exemple, représente l’une de ces croyances qui ont peu de fondement, ou du moins restreint, dans la réalité. Et pourtant, tout le sort de la planète dépend, en substance, de notre illusion collective selon laquelle les acteurs clés, aussi égoïstes soient-ils, restent fondamentalement rationnels et résolus à préserver la survie si rien d’autre. Comme la plupart des préjugés, cette perception peut être la plupart du temps exacte. Cependant, il souffre de défauts systématiques et prévisibles qui peuvent se produire de manière prévisible et qui peuvent saper non seulement nos notions de rationalité, mais aussi les fondements de la stabilité et de la dissuasion.

Il existe de nombreux biais de jugement qui pourraient potentiellement affecter la prise de décision en général, avec des implications profondes pour la prise de décision nucléaire en particulier. Cependant, après avoir fourni une brève discussion sur le traitement des décisions en général, cet article se concentrera sur cinq des candidats les plus notables pour améliorer notre compréhension de la façon dont l’architecture psychologique humaine peut ne pas être bien adaptée pour comprendre l’énorme potentiel destructeur des armes dans le nucléaire. l’âge, et pourrait donc entraver la prise de décision efficace dans le domaine. Ceux-ci incluent l’excès de confiance, l’erreur de planification, l’illusion de validité, l’engourdissement psychique et l’effet de proéminence. Seul et de concert, chacun de ces processus communs peut influencer la manière dont les dirigeants et les autres émettent des jugements et prennent des décisions sans reconnaître les préjugés inhérents à leurs choix. Un bref commentaire sur la manière dont les perspectives évolutionnistes qui plaident généralement contre la notion d’erreur soutiennent en fait des préoccupations plus larges dans ce domaine particulier précède une discussion sur les implications politiques suggérées par ces idées.

Rose McDermott est professeure de relations internationales à l’Université David et Mariana Fisher à l’Université Brown et membre de l’Académie américaine des arts et des sciences. Elle travaille dans les domaines de la psychologie politique. Elle a obtenu son doctorat (science politique) et sa maîtrise (psychologie sociale expérimentale) de l’Université de Stanford et a également enseigné à Cornell et à l’UCSB. Elle a été boursière au Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, à l’Olin Institute for Strategic Studies et au Women and Public Policy Program, tous à l’Université Harvard, et a été boursière au Stanford Center for Advanced Studies in the Behavioral Sciences à deux reprises. Elle est l’auteur de cinq livres, co-éditrice de deux volumes supplémentaires et auteure de plus de deux cents articles académiques dans une grande variété de disciplines englobant des sujets tels que le genre, l’expérimentation, le renseignement de sécurité nationale, l’identité sociale, la cybersécurité, l’émotion et la prise de décision et les bases biologiques et génétiques du comportement politique.

Merci de vous inscrire ici: https://www.eventbrite.ca/e/cepsi-cipss-speaker-series-prof-rose-mcdermott-brown-university-tickets-117443951019 

La conférence sera en anglais.

Date / Heure
Date(s) - 16 octobre 2020
12h00 - 13h30

Carte non disponible